Homepage
 
 
 

The history of the building on Nerudova 5 has begun in the 15th century when three distinct houses were built. These three buildings were reconstructed and ultimately united into two. For two centuries both of them were successively sold to different owners. In 1668 Maximilian von Wallenstein, the owner of that time sold the buildings to count Morzin.

  

Between 1713 - 1714 the architect O. Santini was asked to reconstruct again the building. Santini succeeded in having the portals harmonized with the balcony by placing a unique architectonical statuary group in the middle of the façade. The main elements are the stony escutcheon of the Morzin family, the night and day allegory, the four statues on the cornice of the roof representing the four seasons and also the baroque balcony of iron foundry sustained by two Moors.

The facade of Morzin Palace


Morzin Palace was reconstructed in late baroque style and is an expression of a perfect dialogue between the architect and the sculpture. Inside the architecture and the decorative elements respond harmonically to the 18th century baroque.

   
  Music room

The so-called stone or music room is decorated with plane wooden beams, painted with floral motives in the 15th - 16th century traditional bohemian style. Because of often devastating fires in this part of Prague, the administration of Mala Strana forbade the use of wooden beams in decorating the interiors. The owners of the palace preferred to hide the beams behind a second faked ceiling. That’s how they were practically saved and preserved for other two centuries until they were rediscovered and eventually restored in 1936, when the palace was bought by the Romanian government. An 18th century silk tapestry was also found rolled up between the faked ceiling and the old wooden beams.

i

The yellow room is special for its 19th century furniture, completely restored, as well as for the spiral ladder, dating since 1714, many times restored.

Yellow room
  Red room

The red room is remarkable for its ceiling, consisting on its four allegorical elements: water, air, fire, and earth; and for the 19th century ceramics of German and French provenience and the enameled cast iron stove.

In the dining room, the main attraction is the 1500 kilos heavy chandelier made of crystal and bronze.

 

Dining room
  

The building belongs to the Czech architectural patrimony and the elements of the façade are protected by UNESCO.

This is a brief history of Morzin Palace. All along six centuries of existence Morzin Palace witnessed a reach cultural life. Famous people of the time - composers, painters, sculptors, aristocrats, generals and even politicians were guests of Morzin Palace owners.

It is said that even Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte shortly visited the palace in 1813. This has to be confirmed by further documentation.

Count Morzin was a close friend of Antonio Vivaldi, the great Italian composer. He was fond of Vivaldi’s music and it is said that the composer’ s most famous “Il cimento dell’ armonia e dell’ inventione” (the struggle of harmony with invention) containing the famous concerto “The four seasons” is dedicated to count Morzin. It might not be a pure speculation that Vivaldi’ s concerto “The four seasons” is connected with the four statues on the cornice of the palace roof representing also the four seasons.

Top       
  
 
| Ambassador | Morzin Palace | Who we are | How to reach us |